Click HERE to watch the ted talk by Amy Cuddy about the power of body lanuage.  Then, respond by answering some questions about what you viewed:
    *What was interesting or new in this video for you? 
* Are you convinced that power poses will work?  Why or why not?
*In everyday life do you normally have a low power pose or a high power pose?  Do these poses change depending on the situation? 
*Do you think you may use the power pose in your own life?  How and why would you use it?
*What do you think of her phrase, "don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it." Agree?
2/6/2013 12:17:45 pm

She talked about how body language can affect ourselves and others. I learned that we act the same way as animals do in terms of body language, and we crouch or act smaller in fear or sadness. The power poses could work because they could create a placebo effect in the brain and body. I do not really have a "power pose" honestly, I just kind of have an "in the middle" pose. Power poses can change depending on the situation, but it does depend on the situation. Later on in life or maybe even soon I may use the "power pose". If I am sad, most likely, I will use the "low power" pose. If I am trying to assert authority or get something, then a "high power" pose will be my best option. I sort of agree with her quote. I did not really understand it and thus made no sense to me, so I am not quite sure how to respond to it... Overall it was a great "talk" and made me think about life differently.

Reply
Gregg Gonzalez
2/7/2013 03:39:13 am

I completely agree with you Jarret. It really does make a lot of sense to recognize how someone is feeling by the pose and body language. Your response made me think differently about how I responded myself. I believe you can completely tell with how there day is going or how they feel. Thanks Jarret. Good job.

Reply
Gregg Gonzalez
2/7/2013 03:32:39 am

She talked about body language can really tell how someone is feeling. It pretty much speaks for everyone at one time or another. Also how facial expressions tell a lot about a person too. You can easily tell when someone is angry or confused just by the way they have their face arranged. An with body language, the same thing applies. When someone is walking around witht their face down and slowly just making their way forward you can tell they are sad or very tired. She also talked about power poses. This made sense to me in the fact that they can help at times. I myself don't have much of a power pose. I pretty much just stand just about anywhere with confidence in my stature. That is what that ment to me.

Reply
Minnie Chappell
2/7/2013 08:07:17 am

I totally agree with you Gregg. I think that body language definitely tells someone how you are feeling, and that facial expression is the exact same way. I agree with you about the power pose as well, I don't think I necessarily have a power pose that I have every single day... I believe mine changes with what is going on during the time.I also like how you made a reference to how you know when someone is sad by their body language. Your response was very similar to mine and I think you did very well job explaining the video.

Reply
Hannah Monroe
2/7/2013 10:40:48 am

I definitely agree with you Gregg. I think that even before someone says something you can tell how confident they are when they walk into the room and I also think that facial expressions go along the same lines as body language and can tell us the same if not more of what that person is feeling.

Reply
Minnie Chappell
2/7/2013 07:59:21 am

The women in the video Amy Cuddy talked about how your body language shapes who you are. I agree with her one hundred percent, the way we are sitting or standing and presenting our self to the world really shows who we are. If we are slouching and curled up a little more, we are sad, insecure, shy maybe. If you are standing up straight or stretching your arms out it shows we are happy, we feel strong it all depends. I do believe that power poses could work because it could trick our mind and make the feeling we had before go away. If I were to slouch around all day and have my head tilted toward the ground, I believe soon enough I would become a little upset and not have a good day. So yes it could work. I think most of the time I have a middle pose. It depends on the situation if I just got out of a class and got a A on a big test I might have a higher pose, but it depends on the situation and how am I am feeling during that day. I agree with her quote a little bit, I’m not exactly sure what it is trying to say but I can kind of see where it’s getting at so I guess I agree with it. I think the video was interesting and I believe it speaks for everyone.

Reply
Tom Holman
2/7/2013 08:44:57 am

I agree with your comments, Minnie. I think that if you do happen to be slouching or tilting your head down, you'll end up with sad or insecure feelings. Tricking our minds has been around for a very long time, and has worked for that long as well. Getting a good grade, doing well in sports, or just having a good day will boost our testosterone and lower our stress levels. I do agree with what you have to say about the quote. I believe that she should have used different wording. I think your summary explains this video very well.

Reply
Marie Miller
2/7/2013 09:19:56 am

Hello Minnie :). I totally agree with your remarks. I especially agree with your point about if you get an A on your test, you are more likely to be in a higher pose than if you were to get a lower grade on your test, probably making you slouch around. If you have a better upright pose, than it shows that you are in a happy mood and that you are very strong.

Reply
Emma Kriechbaumer
2/8/2013 02:29:12 pm

Minnie, i completely agree with you. Body language is a big factor in our everyday lives and it definitely helps define the type of person someone is. I really enjoyed when you mentioned the party about slouching vs. standing up straight in your comment because i believe just that can show so much about someone or the situation they are in. I loved all the points you made and i too believe that the video was interesting and that it speaks for everyone in some way or another. Our "power pose" can show the mood we are in, just like you mentioned the situation regarding receiving a good grade on a test. i think this would make a person stand up more straight as well as feel more confident and we would be able to tell this by the body language they are possessing.

Reply
Tom Holman
2/7/2013 08:38:42 am

This video was very new to me because I never knew how such small tweaks could make such big changes. Also, I found the connection between primate hierarchy and human dominance very interesting. I am very convinced that this power pose works because I have noticed more well-put together people are more confident and social. In the video the power poses seemed very familiar to me. I see the low-power poses a lot around school, and like the video says it is more common in females. I would say I have a power pose and I use it a lot around my peers. However when I am at home or by myself I use my low-power pose. Mostly because my parents have more power than me. At school I change my power positions, depending on the situation. When I get in trouble I probably revert to my low-power position. I plan on using the poses the video shows us. I might use it before a game, hard test, or the common job interview. I think that it can't hurt, and the video proves it, so why not? Also, stress plays a big role in situations like that and I would like to have as little as possible. I think Amy Cuddy has it down to a science. I wouldn't use the word "fake" however acting would be better. All in all, putting a label of confidence on yourself and telling yourself you have confidence might just get you that job, so why not.

Reply
Robert Garner
2/7/2013 08:59:52 am

I agree with you Tom and your stance on the TED talk. I find it interesting about how we both think that power poses work and that we will both try them in our lives. Being in a more powerful position can give you a sense of power and priority and that is a good thing to feel. Being more powerful can make you more confident and a better student, or even a better person. I also agree with you on how you take a low-power pose at home because your parents are more powerful than you, because I do the exact same at home. Finally, I agree with you about how it is more acting the part, instead of "faking" the part.

Reply
Blake Aull
2/7/2013 10:28:30 am

Good work, Tom! I completely agree with your statement on how small tweaks can make such big changes. I also found the connection between primate hierarchy and human dominance very interesting. I think it is interesting how you use a low power pose around your parents because i do the same with mine. I think that your stance on putting a label of confidence on yourself is interesting also. I really enjoyed your piece!

Reply
Robert Garner
2/7/2013 08:52:46 am

This new idea about body poses and posture was really interesting. I have never thought about how the way you present yourself and your body position were a big factor on how people perceived you. I also though it was interesting how she talked about your hormone levels and how they differentiated with high-power poses and low-power poses. I am definitely convinced that power poses work because human beings still have very primal instincts and remnants from when we were more primitive. In everyday life I usually keep a low-power pose because I am not a powerful person by nature. But sometimes when I get more comfortable, I adopt a high-power position. I think I might try the power pose in real life because it won't hurt to try and it might actually work out. I would try to adopt more high-power poses because it will make me feel more powerful and more confident. I agree with Amy Cuddy's phrase, "Don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it," because if you do fake something, eventually you might become that thing and you could turn your life around by using that.

Reply
Max Vineyard
2/7/2013 11:21:19 am

Robert, I really liked all your opinions and thought they made sense. After watching this video it really is weird how i'm starting to do these poses in everyday life. I liked how you stated that humans are animals. We are very primal. I also liked how you are willing to try some of these poses. Overall Robert I think you really summed up the whole video really nicely and good work.

Reply
Savannah Welch
2/7/2013 09:08:53 am

I think this video really touches on the idea of who we are as a people. How we feel often reflects onto how we stand and hold ourselves. If we don't have much self esteem, people will be able to tell. I do think these power poses will work since simple things like the clothes you wear or how you hold yourself can affect how you feel. If you pretend that you are powerful, then you may feel the "power" and hold onto it. Kind of like the idea of faking it until you make it. Sometimes when I feel like I have no "power," I change how I'm sitting to try and change how I feel. It doesn't help much, but it kind of gives me a different perspective of power, if you could call it that.

Reply
Kate Nichols
2/7/2013 09:16:31 am

I agree with you, Savannah, especially about how it's very hard to actually try and hide how we feel, because it will unintentionally come out in your body language instinctual, even if you don't want it too! I would speak from first hand experience, as I have had many occasions when I tried to hide my frustrations with trying something new and it didn't work at all. Also, I fully support that pretending you have the power, even if you don't think you do, is a good idea, because it makes you get used to the feeling of power.

Reply
Daniela Ruffo
2/8/2013 08:59:49 pm

I totally agree with you. The way that you feel definitely affects they way that you act, dress, and look. If you dont feel confident then you probably won't have a higher pose. But if you are feeling confident, then you may take on a higher pose without even knowing it. So it all depends on the situation and how you're feeling about yourself in that moment.

Reply
Kate Nichols
2/7/2013 09:13:01 am

This video was actually pretty interesting. My mom talks about TedTalks a lot at home, so I was very farmiliar with the concept, I just had never seen one I found particularly interesting (until now, at least). Just the study of why people do certain things for certain emotions, even if (in the case of the winner with no sight) they had never seen anyone do it, still did the pose. I also thought that it was interesting that Ms. Cuddy focused more on how your body language effects you, more than the usual focus on how it affects others.
I think that power poses will work, as long as the person doing them really believes in the 'power' of a power pose. If you don't believe it will work, then it won't, because, one, you're doubting yourself which beats the purpose of a power pose (which is supposed to give you more confidence), and two, thinking things like that will probably counteract the chemical results she was showing.
I would say that for most of my classes, I stay in a low pose. I'm not exactly sure why. But when I'm talking with friends or family, I try to be in a taller stance, as it is more likely people will talk to me if it seems I wish to be engaged.
What's funny is that we were given a little lesson about this at my roller derby practice a few weeks ago, and while it felt a little silly doing it in front of my team mates, it worked very well! So, I will try and use it more often for sure.

Reply
Gaelen Martin
2/7/2013 11:38:40 am

I also found it really interesting how someone with not sight will react in the exact same way in the same situation. This just proves even more that power poses are sometimes just plain instincts when you accomplish something or are suddenly feeling more powerful. I also liked what you said about power posing and how if you don't believe it will work, than it won't. That's probably why I can't picture myself power posing, because I just don't think that I will feel any more powerful. I'm the same way about power posing, too. During class I'm always in a low power pose but around my friends I feel more comfortable to hold a higher power position. Maybe this I don't feel as intimidated when I'm around people that I talk to all the time.

Reply
Allie Schmid
2/7/2013 11:42:40 am


I definitely agree with you on everything you just said! And like you, I stay in lower power poses in my classes. And then I give myself this whole speech on how I need to sit up and be confident, but then, 2 minutes later, I'm slouching again! It's like an ongoing conflict between my brain and my body. :) When I'm talking with my friends or family, I do sit up or stand taller. I think it's because I feel like they won't judge me... Anyway, great job on setting a goal for yourself to do more high power poses at your roller derby practices! :)

Reply
Marie Miller
2/7/2013 09:17:37 am

She talked about how body language can really show what you are thinking or feeling. Facial expressions can also show your inner feelings as well. I am very convinced that the power pose works because it could make the feeling that we first had go away. I probably use a high power pose all the time because I am always happy and I guess powerful! But sometimes if I am in a bad mood or maybe just thinking of something that causes my thoughts and moods to change, than I can adopt a low power pose due to my sad feelings. I agree with her quote "Don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it". It is kind of saying that if you are sometimes powerful, you are making it. And, when you get to a point where you are always powerful then you become it. I really enjoyed this video!

Reply
Morgan Lyons
2/8/2013 10:17:46 am

I agree with everything you said. You were totally right about your power pose, being powerful and I guess confident. I got basically everything you got back from the video.

Reply
Blake Aull
2/7/2013 10:24:06 am

The most interesting thing that Amy Cuddy talked about was how drastically a persons hormonal levels can change after only two minutes of holding a pose. I am completely convinced that power poses work. I use power poses constantly. Even if I dont realize that I
am doing them. I now realize how often I use them in school and out of school. In my normal life, I have both a high power pose and a low power pose. These poses do change during my day and usually change depending on the situation. Usually when im with friends I tend to use my high power pose. If I were alone in the principal's office, I would most likely use a low power pose. I will probably use a power pose later in life before an interview or speech. I would use a high power pose to seem more confidence when I speak. I think Amy Cuddy's Phrase,"don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it.", is inspirational to say the least. He phrase seems really farfetched but at the same time it seems simple. The phrase basically means that after a while of faking it you will start to become used to the way you act and it will seem natural. I completely agree with her phrase.

Reply
Jason Leary
2/8/2013 06:29:51 am

I found the change in testosterone after two minutes of a power pose very interesting as well. I find myself using power poses very often as well without even realizing it. Depending on the situation. I also said that I would use a high power pose later in life at a job interview too. I find your viewpoint on Amy's phrase very similar to mine. I enjoyed reading your entry.

Reply
Hannah Monroe
2/7/2013 10:34:47 am

I thought it was very interesting to find out that simply "posing" can make you feel more or less powerful in a situation. It's also interesting that these poses are primal and automatic and that in the animal kingdom they are used to assert power. However, I think that these poses will most likely only work on those who are semi to very confident in themselves. Usually people who are less confident in themselves tend to feel awkward and weird doing anything out of the ordinary and try to keep themselves out of the spotlight. I suppose that in certain situations I might demonstrate a "power pose" however, I would need to pay more attention to my actions to know for sure. In soccer however I think I attempt to intimidate other players by towering over them as much as possible, so I suppose this is a power pose. I think her phrase at the end is very true. If you are going to the trouble to make yourself look more powerful you might as well keep doing it until you have yourself convinced also.

Reply
Savannah Welch
2/7/2013 01:16:33 pm

I agree that yes, by making yourself appear bigger makes you look (and feel) more intimidating. It's incredible how much people rely on instinct without realizing it. Even the way we sit tells quite a bit about how we feel about ourselves. I also agree with you on how some people who feel more awkward about themselves try to stay out of the spotlight and don't do anything out of the ordinary. In some ways, that saddens me that some people feel so badly about themselves, but it's just the way some people are. They feel better when they aren't noticed.

Reply
Max Vineyard
2/7/2013 11:14:24 am

Wow, I was amazed at how much I do some of these poses. When i'm in a good mood I never usually slouch my back and have decent posture. But some days are different. Some days I slouch in my seat and cross my arms. I never actually took the time to think about how my posture really effects how people view me. I have always been fascinated how you can tell someone how you are feeling by only using your face. I wish I had known about this video earlier. The only thing I didn't necessarily like about the video was her quote. "Don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it." I was saying this quote over and over in my head and it made sense it is just kind of boring. I like Nike's cheesy quotes like "just do it". Simple quotes like this that make us want to really try. When you hear the word "fake" it makes you think of all non motivational things and just puts people down.

Reply
Jarret Osmialowski
2/7/2013 11:34:06 am

Max, your response was really good and made a lot of sense. I have noticed that you do not really slouch that much and you do have decent posture. The power poses actually can work! Body language tells almost everything about a person without actually telling you about the person. It is like a conversation with movement. I also didn't like the quote either. I did not understand it that much and thought it was a bit cheesy. I do not like cheesy quotes and think that it had no significance in the video.

Reply
Nathan Gehlken
2/7/2013 01:18:38 pm

Wow Max I really enjoyed your response. It actually made me think about how you usually carry yourself. From what I've seen, you do many of these poses. I do agree with your idea of her quote being a little offsetting. Maybe using the word, "fake," wasn't the best word. It does sound mischievous and not honest. But I do like the idea. Great response yo..,/.,?22@@ ø oœ ö ä å Æ

Reply
Shelby Mayes
2/7/2013 01:57:16 pm

I think in her quote she's trying to say that thinking is everything. Buddha has a quote relating to this that would probably make more sense and that is: "The mind is everything, what we think we become". She's saying that if you pretend like you're good at something for example, you will eventually become good at that thing. You will have gained the needed confidence you didn't naturally have. I agree with the fact that it would have been great to have found this video sooner!

Reply
Imani Ware
2/8/2013 03:05:01 pm

I agree with you. The quote, "Don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it" was cheesy, but affective. However, I always think the word “fake” does not make someone a better person. Like what you were saying, it seems less motivational and makes me not want to live by it in order to succeed. I also think she used the quote because the first part had been used many times before, but the second part relates to her presentation, which makes it seem more inspirational.

Reply
Gaelen Martin
2/7/2013 11:30:46 am

I found this entire video very interesting. I never really believed in how body language can tell you about a person mainly because I didn't think there was any evidence behind it. This video showed the scientific evidence behind "power poses" and how your body language actually can affect your stress levels and confidence. The part about the job interview was also very interesting, how people with power poses are much more likely to be hired. I think power poses do work, but not necessarily in every situation. Yes, if you won a race, you're already going to feel powerful so a power pose is normal. Yet, people probably aren't going to do power pose everyday or while just sitting around. Sure, they make you feel powerful, but only in opportunities where you can actually use them. I would say that my "power poses" change from situation to situation. I typically sit in a low power pose in all of my classes because I never feel the need to be powerful when I'm just taking notes or listening to a lecture. I don't think I'm as awkward around my friends just because I'm much more comfortable around them so maybe I have a bit more of a powerful pose. To be completely honest, I doubt I will ever feel the need to use the power pose in my life, at least not intentionally. It would be nice to be a bit more confident but I just don't think a powerful position will immediately change how I feel. I really loved her phrase stating, "don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it." I completely agree with this statement. If you’re going to "fake" being powerful, after awhile it will no longer be faking at all. Soon you will be so used to being powerful and it won’t even be viewed as faking. If you hold a powerful role and stand your ground than eventually you will become a powerful person.

Reply
Cameron Penny
2/7/2013 01:33:04 pm

I agree with you Gaelen when you said that power poses make you feel powerful, only when it is the right opportunity. I can totally relate to you when you said that when you are in class, you have a low power pose, but when you are with friends, you have a high power pose. My power pose definitely depends on the situation and my surroundings. I also agree that just changing your position, will not instantly make you happier. Maybe changing your power position will make you look more powerful, but it won't always make you feel more powerful. It is true that after faking something for a while you will become it. But, I think that Amy Cuddy's quote makes no sense.

Reply
Daly Brister
2/7/2013 01:36:45 pm

I agree with you that it was very helpful to see the evidence behind the affects of body language. I've always been a bit of a sceptic when it came to the power of body language and it was reassuring to understand where these theories were coming from. I also agree that your poses change depending on who you're with. Around my friends i am also much more assertive, but with people who aren't my equals (more than me) I tend to close myself in a little.

Reply
Allie Schmid
2/7/2013 11:34:17 am

Wow, well, I really enjoyed watching this! I find this topic extremely interesting, and everything that she said makes sense to me. When I'm not feeling good, or if I'm not in a good mood, I do slouch down and I do make myself small. It's like I'm trying to protect myself, but I really have no idea what it's from! So... I'm sure that everyone has gone through at least a couple "motivational speeches" that you've given yourselves, and so have I. I find that when I do this, I feel more powerful, happier, and much more confident in myself.

I almost always use a lower power pose when I'm by myself or with complete strangers. I just think that this is because I'm not confident enough in myself. I'm so afraid of people judging me that I shrink down and pretend that I'm not even there. I would use a higher power pose if I've just completed a goal of mine. I often set goals, and most of the time I meet them, and when I do, it just makes me feel good inside.

I feel like her quote is inspirational, but every time she said "fake it..." I felt sort of put down by that. Like, she had just built all of these people up on, yes, use the higher power poses, and then she goes on to say that we need to fake it for a while. Yes, you do need to fake it... but what I guess what I'm trying to say is that the "fake it..." makes it seem like you are putting yourself down. But, yes, the quote was very inspiring.

Reply
Talitha Johnson
2/7/2013 01:58:48 pm

Whenever I'm all crunched up, I think the same thing- what am I curled up for? But then I'm all, "Oh wait, silly me, I'm cold." and I will give a hearty laugh and put on a sweater.


That or I'm surrounded by people I don't know/like and I want to become a book on the floor. Then people will be like, "Is that a book?" and then the other person will say "Yeah." and they'll say "Cool." and everyone wins.

Reply
Nathan Gehlken
2/7/2013 01:14:54 pm

I really enjoyed this video. It was very informal and opened my eyes to ideas and principles that usually I would pay little to no attention to. Amy explained her ideas very clearly and went through her presentation fluidly. After learning of her and her team's experiments on power and powerless poses, I realized that we all perform them in everyday life. I do think trying out power poses can work. Usually, I rest in the weaker poses, just because it feels natural. I'm usually outgoing, unless I'm in class. But then again that really depends on the class. In Ms. Lago's class, I make efforts to be outgoing, but usually it ends up just becoming awkward for myself, and probably for nobody else. Maybe its the size of the class, population wise. Maybe its the feng shui of the layout. I have no literal reason. In my history class, it is extremely open, and everyone is joking around, laughing, and socializing with the teacher. The more earthy tones in the walls and the floor in that room may be a factor. The enigmatic, empowering approach the teacher has may be another. I'm usually hunched over, or have my arms crossed, in a more defensive pose. When I'm around friends I'm extremely open and exciting, and am in mainly powerful poses, but on a more reserved scale. The phrase, "Don't fake it till you make it; fake it until you become it," is a very strong statement. It's a very good piece of advice for anyone in the modern world. We all need some uplifting advice to give us the inspiration or strength to accomplish what we want to do in life. Why stop just as you are barely in. OK, you're in, so what? But can you handle it? Can you carry out your duties efficiently? Correctly? Have I fully took on my role? We all need to ask ourselves these questions before we say, "Yeah! I'm in, now I can stop working." You can't just stop there. Why stop? You NEED to keep going until you have BECOME what you are doing. So in conclusion, Amy Cuddy's presentation was phenomenal in my opinion. It was very entertaining, inspiring, and informational. I think I will try using more powerful poses in everyday life, anyways, we all need to try new things, so why not start now? Holla, peace.....

Reply
Cameron Penny
2/7/2013 01:19:23 pm

I thought that it was interesting when Amy Cuddy said that judgments of political candidates faces, in just one second, predicts 70% of US Senate and gubernatorial outcome. I am convinced that power poses work, because when you persuade yourself that you are happy, by bettering your posture, you suddenly become happy. Honestly, I think that it always depends on how I am feeling, whether I have a low or high power pose. My “power pose” definitely depends on the situation. I think that I would use a power pose. For example, if I was sad or felt uncomfortable, I would use a low power pose. But, if I were around my friends or family, I would portray a high power pose. I think that her phrase,” don’t fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it”, doesn’t make any sense. I think that making something and becoming something are basically the same thing. Other than that, I enjoyed the video and benefitted from it.

Reply
Daly Brister
2/7/2013 01:24:08 pm

To be honest, I've never given a thought to my body language and how it affects me in everyday life. For a long time I've known that body language changes the way people see me, just not that it can change the way i see myself. I've always thought that your body language was a result of how you were feeling, but it's interesting to consider it the other way around. I was very surprised by how dramatic the hormone changes were after only two minutes of a power pose. It got me to thinking of how dramatic of a change there would be if you were to do a power pose naturally, all the time. I think that when someone around me is doing a power pose, I tend to be much more submissive in my body language; However, when someone is being less dominant than I, i tend to take on a more confident position. I never realized how weak my body language is, the majority of time in class i spend slouched over with my hands folded, and i've never considered myself submissive in any way. I'm completely convinced that power poses must work, because I'm very familiar with the term "fake it till you make it" this is actually one of my favorite sayings, but it really does mean "fake it till you become it". This works, because with repetition you can train your mind and body to do or think anything. I've never been aware of how much i touch my neck until now and what exactly it means. I have a lot to try from here on out and i'm pretty excited to not only be able to read other's body language, but also to shape my own.

Reply
Shelby Mayes
2/7/2013 01:52:02 pm

I found it interesting to know that you're mood is effected by how you stand. I don't think I have a power pose because i'm usually just sitting down all day and my body language is kind of effected by how tired I am and not how powerful I am. Power poses probably increase your confidence or decrease it and that's why they are so effective. When you're comfortable you're generally a lot happier to be around. I would use the power pose at like an audition or an interview because it helps with how people perceive you and what they think of you. I agree with her phase, when you tell yourself you are something repeatedly you eventually become that thing. It's kind of like setting a goal and being determined to reach it, eventually you'll get there.

Reply
Yvanna Bidart
2/7/2013 03:08:48 pm

I, like Shelby, also found it interesting how your mood is affected by how you stand. I had honestly never thought of that. I also agree that power poses can boost your confidence. Yet, just like Shelby said, they can also decrease your confidence and self-esteem if you're in a crouching pose or position.

Reply
Talitha Johnson
2/7/2013 01:55:14 pm

What was interesting/new to me in this video was the way the lady sniffed. In between practically every sentence, she did this sharp little sniff and I found it very transfixing.
I know power poses work- for me at least. I used to read all sorts of scientific-y books as a little kid, so this wasn't exactly news to me. This wasn't a new discovery was it? Haha, nah, I guess it kind of is.
My pose changes depending on the situation. For example, in school, most of the time at least, I will probably huddle myself up. Once out of education's clutches, I spread my wings and learn to fly.
I heard the saying before but in the context of behavior. Something like, "Pretend to be a mean person and you'll be a mean person, pretend to be a nice person and you'll be a nice person."
The End.

Reply
Yvanna Bidart
2/7/2013 03:01:17 pm

I thought the whole video was very interesting. It was very fascinating getting to know how to cope during different situations in order to feel more confident with others and with yourself. Amy Cuddy definitely convinced me that power poses will work. I believe that when you say to yourself that you will accomplish anything, then you will. If you set your mind to it, you can achieve a whole lot. If I were to do a power pose before any situation where I could feel daunted, I will get through the situation in a better way rather not doing any power pose and feeling worried. I go through both poses throughout my day. In certain situations I might feel more intimidated than in others where I am very comfortable such as when I am around my friends. I do want to try the power poses and actually see for myself if they work or not. I will use them for situations where I feel overwhelmed, scared, and/or frustrated. I agree with her phrase. I interpret it as trying until you have attained your goal. I think this can help anybody get through hard times when feeling you are not good enough or when you think you can’t go on anymore. Over all, I thought the video was very motivating and I really did like it.

Reply
Jason Leary
2/8/2013 06:22:51 am

I found the whole video interesting in general. I think the power poses would work in a real life situation because I find myself in those poses when I feel high-power/low-powered. I think I normally have a high-power pose normally. I think I tend to have a low power pose doing homework or listening in class. I don't think I would use the power poses in my life currently. I could think of future events to do power poses in like interviews. I do agree with the phrase, "Don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it." because I think it could work.

Reply
Morgan Lyons
2/8/2013 08:48:19 am

It was interesting to see how body language shows how one can act. I've noticed that through body language you can tell what someone's thinking of. Sometimes I think that people are mad at me or something because of their body language even if their voice is nice and kind. I don't think I have a specific power pose , but I don't think I would know anyways, I think only other people pick up on if you are doing something

Reply
Morgan Lyons
2/8/2013 08:50:50 am

I didn't think the quote really means anything to me. I didn't understand what the quote meant.

Reply
Emma Kriechbaumer
2/8/2013 02:34:01 pm

Overall i really enjoyed watching this video about the power of body language. After sitting here and processing everything Amy Cuddy said i have realized the strong significance body language has on a person and the situation they are in. "Power poses" speak a lot about the person and what they are feeling. For example just like many people have said, if you are standing up straight and holding your head up high you will exert confidence.... However, if you are slouching and not looking at anyone in the eye you will exert shyness or timidness. Amy Cuddy explained all of this points in depth and made me think what i do on a daily basis and what it might truly mean.
I really liked and agreed with Amy Cuddy when she stated , "Don't fake it until you make it; fake it until you become it," if you do fake something for so long in your life time it will become reality and no one whats to be or act like someone or something they are not.

Reply
Imani Ware
2/8/2013 02:45:47 pm

This video was very interesting to me. I never knew that standing in a power pose would help my confidence level and make me feel much stronger and more powerful. When I go to an interview for a job, or anything, I will go into a power pose before to give me a better chance of doing well in the interview. I would always think that when I put my hands on my hips, it was because my arms were tired. However, now I know that I wanted to have power at that moment and it made me feel better afterwards. This is an amazing discovery! I would see people making themselves smaller, including me, but it never occurred to me that we might be doing that because there were other people making themselves bigger. This TED talk video helps explain how our postures are interpreted differently, how they are affected by everyone around us, and how they affect everyone round us.

Reply
carolyn gauvin
2/10/2013 03:45:52 am

i liked the example you used about the job interview for power pose! thats super smart and very useful :). I find it really cool too about puting your hands on your hips is because you want attention. i agree with what you said perfectly, nice job.

Reply
Sydney Althof
2/8/2013 03:16:27 pm

I think this lady really is right. Facial expression can really tell what your inner thoughts are and stuff.

Reply
Daniela Ruffo
2/8/2013 08:55:36 pm

I found this video very interesting. I do believe that when people walk into a room, they do start making higher poses to demand attention. There are also the shy people that close themselves up and make a lower pose. I think it also depends on the situation. There are places that you are going to have to use a higher pose on purpose. Places that you want to make a name for yourself and remind others not to mess with you. In a room, it is, a lot of times, obvious of who is higher or lower, then you start to decide what personality they must have by the pose that they make. I believe that some people may pretend to use a higher pose when they usually wouldn't. There are some places that it is okay for people to use a lower pose, but, like I said before, some places you have to stand up for yourself and show people that you are stong. I didn't really understand the quote, but I think it meant don't stop faking a higher pose until you believe that you are higher, which I don't really believe in becuase there are people that dont want to be lower/higher but sometimes have to pretend to be a pose that they're not.

Reply
Carolyn Gauvin
2/10/2013 03:43:40 am

I defenitly found this video pretty interesting. It talks about how your body language can signal how youre feeling emotionally. I agree when she says that people make higher poses to attract attention and for confidence, and that lower poses are made for shy or confined people. The whole "power pose" idea made me think quite a bit about what mine would be. I also really agree when she says facial expressions can tell if someone is sad, mad, in a good mood, or just in a bad mood. I think power poses do work if you believe hard enough that they will. In everyday life, i usually have a higher pose, just because i try to look at every situation with a positive attitude and i have people making me feel good all around me. I would probobly use the power pose in my life if im embarrassed at something publically. im sort of confused with her quote, but at the same time , I'd have to disagree. i dont think you should fake who you are for anything at anytime.

Reply



Leave a Reply.