Respond to me and a classmate by Friday!  For a response to a classmate think
about how the person you are responding to has extended your own ideas, how they
support your own ideas, or how they may challenge your own
ideas.
Click here to watch Obama's Inauguration speech.  Click
here to get a copy of the text of his speech (to follow along).
After watching/reading the speech respond to it by answering any or all of the following questions:
*What was interesting about the speech?  Give a line or two that you liked.
*What was not interesting or boring about the speech?
*What did you agree with in the speech?  What did you disagree with?
*There were lots of allusions in his speech (a reference to a person, place, event, history), name an allusion you found interesting.  Why did he use this allusion?  Why was it interesting or meaningful to the speech?
Jarret Osmialowski
1/23/2013 12:33:21 pm

First comment. Woo! Well, I fully agree with everything said in Obama's speech (answers the third question) and believe it was well addressed and spoken. It was interesting how he could indirectly reach out to every one of us.

"Today we continue a never-ending journey, to bridge the meaning of those words with the realities of our time. For history tells us that while these truths may be self-evident, they have never been self-executing; that while freedom is a gift from God, it must be secured by His people here on Earth."

I really liked that part. ^

I didn't find anything boring about the speech. It was very meaningful and really enjoyed hearing it. He used the patriots as an allusion in his speech making a reference to our freedom. But, all in all, his speech was simply fantastic and enjoyable.

Reply
Kendall Emerson
1/24/2013 04:02:12 am

I agree with you as well. I find quite notable how Obama can strike the hearts of every American, and fill most with a sense of pride in our country. I believe it's ideal for a president to be able to consciously support most peoples ideas, while running our country properly. I also liked the same allusion that you put as well, though i thought it represented America's advancement through history and determination more than freedom. However, your point about freedom does make sense, and that was a great point to bring up.

Reply
Morgan Lyons
1/24/2013 07:19:30 am

Once I finished mine, and then read yours, I realized we both liked the quote about bridging words with reality. I agreed with everything you said. The allusion you found I also like because patriots were what helped us gain freedom, in a way, kind of. The speech definitely touched me.

Reply
Robert Garner
1/24/2013 09:54:20 am

I definitely agree with you about the president's speech. He did write an amazing purposeful speech. I think you brought that idea up really well in your response. It really extended my idea about how he delivered such a great speech. I also agree with you on how we used an interesting allusion about the patriots and the American Revolution.

Reply
Kendall Emerson
1/24/2013 03:56:51 am

I found the inaugural speech to be quite exceptional, and most of it I believe holds true. I found it interesting and supportive of the vice president to speak of women’s rights, and the rights of homosexuals.
“For our journey is not complete until our wives, our mothers, and daughters can earn a living equal to their efforts. Our journey is not complete until our gay brothers and sisters are treated like anyone else under the law - for if we are truly created equal, then surely the love we commit to one another must be equal as well”(3).
However, some parts to me we were boring. For example, I did not find the paragraph when he spoke about global warming to be that interesting. This is mostly because I feel as if it has been restated far too often by the government, and it starts to become boring to listen to after the fourth or fifth time.
Though I did find the speech to be interesting and motivating, I do disagree with some points made during the speech. I disagree with his view on war. He states that it will cause suspicion and fear, but what about those whose lives are lost? I would like to fancy that our government would not shed such a blind eye to that crucial detail. I also noticed that allusions were used in this speech. One particular one I liked was when he referenced the patriots of 1776 overthrowing Britain’s tyranny. I believe that he used this allusion to in a way, emphasize how far we have come as a united nation, and not as a colony ruled by a tyrant. It was interesting to hear in the speech, because if you really rack your brain about it, really in history it only seemed to happen last week. Our country has only been united a little bit past two hundred years I believe, and within that short historical period, we have achieved a tremendous amount.

Reply
Megan Ogilvie
1/25/2013 03:06:03 pm

I agree with you that some parts of the speach were boring. Also I agree that restating things already stated by the government a million times is boring to listen to and watch.

Reply
Morgan Lyons
1/24/2013 07:15:28 am

A quote that I found interesting in Obama's speech was probably one of the first things he said. He said, "We recall what binds this nation together is not the colors of our skin, or the tenants of our fate, or the origins of our names.." I thought it was an interesting quote because it was Martin Luther King day, it started the speech out right, and to me i guess, it was a good way to get people to tune in. I thought it was interesting to watch, but at sometimes it would get boring. At least a few times, I spaced out, but then something would catch me back into the Inauguration. An allusion I found in his speech was "Today we continue a never ending journey to bridge the meaning of words with the realities of our time." When I heard Obama say this, it made me have to think for a little about it and what it really meant. Overall, I thought Obama's speech was good and meaningful to the US.

Reply
Minnie Chappell
1/24/2013 09:22:51 am

Morgan, I totally agree with what you said. I thought it was funny how we put the same quote in at the beginning of both of our sentences, i also thought it was very cool how it was on Martin Luther King day as well! I love the Allusion that you found also, "Today we continue a never ending journey to bridge the meaning of words with the realities of our time." It also made me have to sit back and think about what it really means. Overall what you wrote about Obamas speech was very similar to me, and i really like what you wrote!

Reply
Jake Little
1/24/2013 12:54:35 pm

Morgan I completely agree with your thoughts on his quote, "We recall what binds this nation together is not the colors of our skin, or the tenants of our fate, or the origins of our names..." because I think it's very accurate to the occasion and does serve as a good quality about our nation and the other quote you chose really signifies what is to come in the next coming years and your thoughts are almost the same as my own!

Reply
Oliver Palmieri
1/24/2013 03:36:41 pm

That was smart to point out that it was Martin Luther King Jr. day, to show more of contexts to what Obama was saying. His ceremony was well timed to be on Martin Luther King day. I think that this would have made Martin Luther King very proud and I am glad he timed his speech to his birthday. I too spaced out during his speech. In my opinion it did drag out a little longer than was needed, but still had many good points in his speech. That was also a very interesting quote you chose, it has a very interesting hidden meaning that is actually very poetic. Over all I kind of completely agree with you. Meaningful was also a very well way to word how his speech spoke to America as a whole.

Reply
Jason Leary
1/24/2013 08:11:39 am

Obama's speech was pretty reputable. I like how he incorporated the part with overthrowing the British tyranny. Although I found that he talked slow and found that boring, the things he stated were inspirational. I'm not informed enough on some topics to disagree with them. The allusion about the British tyranny goes to show how some have worked with blood, sweat, and tears to get were we are today in America. "You and I, as citizens, have the power to set this country's course." was inspirational to me because every citizen in America contributes to the fate of the country.

Reply
Hannah Monroe
1/24/2013 11:08:48 am

I completely agree with you. I really like the quote you picked out and definitely agree with the idea that the fate of the country does not simply just happen, That it is the peoples' actions that define a nation's future and how it is viewed by others. I also liked how he alluded back to the Revolutionary War and what it took to overthrow the British tyranny. I guess a common enemy was a good way to unite a nation.

Reply
Minnie Chappell
1/24/2013 09:02:28 am

The most interesting thing that I liked in Obamas speech was when he opened up saying, “We affirm the promise of our democracy. We recall that what binds this nation together is not the colors of our skin or the tenets of our faith or the origins of our names. What makes us exceptional - what makes us American - is our allegiance to an idea, articulated in a declaration made more than two centuries ago…” I thought this was very interesting because he started it off a very good way, I believe he caught a lot of peoples attention, making people that are a different race maybe really wanting to hear what he has to say.. The speech tied in very well with the holiday that day as well. I think his speech meant a lot to some people, but because I am still young and only a freshmen I thought it was kind of boring for me to watch. I spaced out a couple of times but he would always catch me on a few lines every once in a while. I liked how he was tying the whole country together by saying, “We the people,” and referencing to all different kinds of situations. The Allusion that I thought was interesting was, “We, the people, declare today that the most evident of truths - that all of us are created equal - is the star that guides us still; just as it guided our forebears through Seneca Falls, and Selma, and Stonewall; just as it guided all those men and women, sung and unsung, who left footprints along this great Mall…” I don’t really know why I like this but it kind of just reached out to me. Over all I thought he reached out to a lot of people and gave a very powerful speech.

Reply
Gaelen Martin
1/24/2013 10:42:13 am

I agree with everything you said! I also liked how Obama opened up the speech because it addressed the country as a whole. I also believed the speech tied into the holiday, because it had many inspiring lines about everyone being equals. I got pretty bored, too, especially when he continued to repeat some of the things he said early on in the speech. I kept getting lost in what he was saying and had to go back to find and reread some parts. I like the allusion you chose because it helps describe the country even more and relate back to the history our country holds. I think it's important to connect back to the history of the country and the allusions made the speech much better. I also think the speech reached out to every person, and he definitely it relatable for everyone.

Reply
Sydney Althof
1/24/2013 09:19:23 am

I liked Obama's speech! I also liked how he thinks we have the drive and determination to make it the world as a compete success!

"America's possibilities are limitless, for we possess all the qualities that this world without boundaries demands: youth and drive; diversity and openness; an endless capacity for risk and a gift for reinvention."
I agreed with this fully!

Reply
Robert Garner
1/24/2013 09:50:01 am

I believe president Obama spoke a phenomenal speech that was very deep and moving. It struck the heart of many Americans. I thought it was interesting when he briefly spoke about the American Revolution in 1776 and overthrowing the British tyranny.

" The patriots of 1776 did not fight to replace the tyranny of a king with the privileges of a few or the rule of a mob. They gave to us a Republic, a government of, and by, and for the people, entrusting each generation to keep safe our founding creed. "

I completely agree with president Obama and the ideas he talked about. I found that about halfway through that speech that it started to get a little slow and uninteresting. I found the allusion about the American Revolution was very interesting and a smart idea to throw in the speech. Overall the president spoke a good, meaningful speech that touched many Americans.

Reply
Max Vineyard
1/24/2013 11:58:35 am

Exactly, everything you wrote is what I believe Obama really wanted to accomplish. He definitely made me feel more patriotic towards my country and made me want to do something in this world. Obama mentioning the American Revolution I think reminded us of what we are all capable of. America was founded on a dream. We are hundreds of years ahead of some countries and very privileged to be living this lifestyle.

Reply
Gaelen Martin
1/24/2013 10:29:37 am

I really enjoyed Obama's Inaugural speech. I agreed with everything he stated. One of my favorite lines was "But we have always understood that when times change, so must we; that fidelity to our founding principles requires new responses to new challenges; that preserving our individual freedoms ultimately requires collective action." I liked this portion of his speech because I believe it is very true to the world today. He basically said that times are changing, and we can't just stay the same. People need to except change and be willing to adjust to new issues that may arise in the country. I think this was especially important because there have been many debates over gun laws, and this relates back to having new responses to new challenges. This is often true when something major happens in the US, so I'm glad Obama mentioned that there needs to be change. I also liked his mention of global warming, since that is something I find extremely important. I found the entire speech very interesting, however he does talk pretty slow so I occasionally got lost in what he was saying. I agree with everything in this speech, and I cannot find anything I disagree with. I loved the mention of the growing middle class, because I think there needs to be a bit more focus on the middle class. My favorite part of the speech was anytime he alluded back to the Declaration of Independence. For example, when he said: “That is our generation's task - to make these words, these rights, these values - of Life, and Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness - real for every American.” I thought this was a very inspiring portion of his speech, as well as the opening of his speech. Overall I enjoyed listening to this speech.

Reply
Kate Nichols
1/24/2013 01:27:40 pm

I completely agree with you Gaelen. I found the fact he brought up that things aren't the same as they were at the start of the country very interesting, because it's true, but no one seems to mention it! When I sometimes bring up the fact that gun control could be regulated more strictly, people will sometimes tell me that we can't do this, because "it's on the bill of rights". And I just think to myself, so was the prohibition of alcohol. Also, while the general public has a right to have hunting weapons, there is no need for a regular citizen to own an assault rifle in this day and age.
I also agree with the quote “That is our generation's task - to make these words, these rights, these values - of Life, and Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness - real for every American.” because it's absolutely true. It's not to say that other generations haven't had massive influence similar to this in our country's history - it's just saying that we have our part to play in it as well.

Reply
Yvanna Bidart
1/24/2013 02:08:46 pm

I completely agree with how times are changing and in order for thing to change, we have to change as well. Our country has changed through many years, but in order to keep moving forward we have to put our part too. We need to have an open mind about new laws, regulations, and principles. I completely agree with being able to amend to the Constitution. We have done it before, why can't we do it today? These are the things I also keep in mind. I also agree with the quote "“That is our generation's task - to make these words, these rights, these values - of Life, and Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness - real for every American.” because it is correct to say that we need to contribute to the change and idea of making everyone equal. We should all get the chance to be free, be happy, and to value life as a whole.

Hannah Monroe
1/24/2013 10:58:43 am

This was a very powerful and uniting speech given by the president. Obama is a very powerful speaker and definitely commands the attention of his audience. All he needs is a good speech to back him up and this one was definitely the one for him. I did not really find any part of the speech to be dreadfully boring. It was a very uplifting speech. Furthermore, my favorite line was 'Today we continue a never-ending journey, to bridge the meaning of those words with the realities of our time. For history tells us that while these truths may be self-evident, they have never been self-executing; that while freedom is a gift from God, it must be secured by His people here on Earth.' I liked this quote because it states that even though we have freedom it is not simply entitled to us because we are Americans, it has been earned by many years of work and is still being maintained those who give their life to protect it.

Reply
TaLitHa jOhNsOn
1/24/2013 11:20:46 am

I agree with you on the fact that Obama is a very powerful speaker, which is a good thing for a President to be because they are the President. I like all of his 'We. The people.'''s. It's like his signature thing.
Also you must be a very powerful speaker, because the end of your paragraph (speech) really uplifted me.

Reply
Marie Miller
1/25/2013 07:27:03 am

I definitely agree with everything you have said! I agree that Obama is a powerful speaker and he really gets you thinking about things. 'Today we continue a never-ending journey, to bridge the meaning of those words with the realities of our time. For history tells us that while these truths may be self-evident, they have never been self-executing; that while freedom is a gift from God, it must be secured by His people here on Earth.' I thought that was a great quote too and it definitely states that even though we are a free country, doesn't mean it is simply entitled to us. We had to work for it.

Reply
TaLiThA jOhNsOn
1/24/2013 11:17:20 am

One of my favorite lines in the speech was, "While freedom is a gift from God, it must be secured by His people here on Earth."

It wasn't necessarily boring at any point, but speeches can go on too long, and I think this was one of them. Then again, I haven't listened to all that many speeches in my time so what do I know.

One thing that I'd like to say I agreed with was when he mentioned that America needs to lower its Health Care prices. I second this.

I don't think there was anything he said that I disagreed with, so to make up for that, I'd like to tell everyone that at 5:05, you can see a lady with a really cool hat.

I did hear allusions, such as the one he used with colonial times, but another thing I noticed that I'd like to point out was a clever segue he employed that I thought was interesting. He mentions one of the problems in America as people losing their houses to storms, and a few moments later, he uses the word 'storm' to describe the challenges we face. It was a nice metaphorical transition in my opinion.

Reply
Max Vineyard
1/24/2013 11:51:03 am

I believe Obama is living in the same time period as us. He has addressed very important issues that we are dealing with today. I feel like Obama really wants nothing best for his citizens. Both this and his ability to relate to most everyone is what I believe won the election for him. Although I believe he will do good others think differently. Freshman I see everyday will have nothing to do with Obama and honestly he isn't exactly effecting the freshman at Coronado High, so why do so many despise him. This is beyond me and I believe it has to do with what their parents believe.

Reply
Shelby Mayes
1/24/2013 12:34:58 pm

I agree with what you said about people in our grade disagreeing with Obama before doing research themselves. I think this speech should win over the hearts of people who didn't know so much about him based on the way he presented himself through the entire thing. I couldn't be more proud of him as our president. He is taking such bold and strong political stand points and not working what the conservatives may think which is EXACTLY what a president should do. He should care about the opinions of everyone but the majority of the ethical values of most american citizens is whats really important.

Reply
Allie Schmid
1/24/2013 01:32:11 pm

So I do agree with you that Obama did address the issues that we are dealing within this country very well, but boldly. However, I disagree with your statement on how Obama has nothing to do with the freshman at Coronado High School. A president's decisions will have long ranging effects that will definitely have something to do with all of us, whether it is good or bad. It's very important that we pay attention to a president's deeds and that's why we have these political discussions in some of our classes.

Honestly, I definitely do not follow all of my parent's beliefs. True, I do agree with them on many topics, but believe me, I do my research. If there is something that they say that I don't agree with, I study the topic. Just like you come up with your beliefs, I come up with mine, as do many other people that I know.

Reply
Emma Kriechbaumer
1/25/2013 02:36:58 pm

Max, i fully agree with all of the points you made and i really enjoyed the part you mentioned about our peers despising President Obama for no apparent reason besides their parents own hatred. He did address very important issues that we are dealing with in our world today and i think that was a big standout for many people tuning in. Everyone has their opinions on Obama whether they are good or bad, but after this speech i think everyone should be looking at the all of the good intentions he has for all of us as well as the country as a whole. He truly does want nothing but the very best for all of the citizens and i really liked how you included that.

Reply
Jarret Osmialowski
1/27/2013 09:19:11 am

Max, I agree with your statement about Obama's inauguration speech. Your response is well written relating to his speech. You are right about how he addresses the citizens of our country, which was a part that I liked a lot. You did hit a point about how so many people despise Obama as freshmen, knowing nothing about politics... That get's annoying to me. Well, I liked your response. It was very good. See you Monday.

Reply
Shelby Mayes
1/24/2013 12:31:44 pm

I felt like this speech was written to please certain groups of people so I can see how some people could take that as "Socialism" but I think it's a good thing that he so strongly supported his moral values and the morals of most of the people who voted him president. I will argue that I don't think a president expressing his own ethical morals (that may i add are also shared by over half of this country) makes him a socialist. I love how he connected the beginning of this speech to when America was first forming as a country and how we need to keep moving forward from there. That particular part stood out to me because you could tell how upset he was by the prejudice our country is giving to each other within itself, for example the gay rights movement, or the need of more jobs in this economy. I thought it was very risky of the president to state such controversial topics at the very beginning of his second term. But it also showed that this is a man who is dedicated and focused on achieving his goals for this term. I also loved how he mentioned global warming and climate change. It showed how he's not only thinking about his generation but how this generation will effect the generations to come.

Reply
Jake Little Per.3
1/24/2013 12:51:54 pm

"For the American people can no more meet the demands of today's world by acting alone than American soldiers could have met the forces of fascism or communism with muskets and militias. No single person can train all the math and science teachers we'll need to equip our children for the future, or build the roads and networks and research labs that will bring new jobs and businesses to our shores. Now, more than ever, we must do these things together, as one nation, and one people."
Obama makes a great point with a bursting quote such as that. He is delivering the message of unity throughout our great land. His speech is very profound and agreement and was delivered as such. I agree with Obama in this point because he is stating that we can't function without working together as a people, as a democracy. This ideal helps shape our nation as one strong union.
His speech was inspirational and strong and shows his qualities as a leader and I look forward to these next four years.

Reply
Carolyn Gauvin
1/25/2013 01:30:11 pm

I loved the quote you used and I completely agree. I think that your point about how the country as a whole cannot function and work together unless we are all working together as well. Your response totally extends to what i was trying to say as we are all created equally. Once everyone can take a stand to everyone is equal in our country, we can easily work together to make things easier and safer and better. I think you supported your quote perfectly and supported my argument perfectly as well.

Reply
Imani Ware
1/25/2013 03:26:17 pm

I completely agree with you!!! I used the same quote and felt the same way about it. This quote speaks of uniting the nation and working together. It also makes people want to join together to solve our nation’s problems. More people working alongside one another to get things done and improve our society would create a better nation. When the majority of the people agree with the outcome of a better society, then they would live better lives and mostly everyone would be satisfied. And President Barack Obama would have succeeded in bring people together. And your right, this speech “shows his qualities as a leader” and I too look forward to theses next four years.

Reply
Daniela Ruffo
1/25/2013 04:32:24 pm

I absolutely agree with you. I think this speech did a great job of uniting our country. The speech really did bring us back to our true roots and made us remeber why we started this nation in the first place. The speech made us remember our original rules and rights, and how even thou some have been amended, the rights for freedom and justice have been there from the start. I think a lot of times we just need to take some time to think back to those times when we had to fight so much for all our freedom. I truely believe that this speech was a nice wake up call from reality and a reminder to stay true to our history.

Allie Schmid
1/24/2013 01:18:08 pm


Ok. So first off, I would like to say that Obama is a very powerful and inspirational speaker. He has clearly influenced many people in this wonderful nation, and this is a great quality for a president to have. I had two favorite quotes out of his speech that both tie into what I strongly believe. "...that while freedom is a gift from God, it must be secured by His people here on Earth." This one was my favorite out of the two because if we are together as a nation, we can do great things like keep our freedom in America. My second favorite quote was, "We are true to our creed when a little girl born into the bleakest poverty knows that she has the same chance to succeed as anybody else, because she is an American, she is free, and she is equal, not just in the eyes of God but also in our own.” I like this quote because it shows how a hardworking, determined citizen, even born into the hardest of times can thrive in America.

I really don’t want to sound like I’m copying everyone but the allusion to the American Revolution was a great thing to put into this speech to show that this country was built on dreams and can continue to be built on them.

I also think that his paragraph on global warming was a bit unnecessary seeing as the government has put the “issue” out there so many times already.

Reply
Daly Brister
1/25/2013 01:06:33 pm

I appreciate that you took the time to mention Obama's idea to stop global warming. I agree with you that this was a bit unnecessary and sounded like it did not belong in a presidential innaurguration speech. Your statement about the president's skill in speech was also something I agree with. He has captivated many people with his words and it is good to see someone acknowledge it. I also enjoyed the quote about the little girl rising above the bleakest of poverty, because he managed to illustrate what we strive for as a country, in a single sentence.

Reply
Kate Nichols
1/24/2013 01:21:27 pm

I found the speech to be a little more interesting than I thought it would be, but still ultimately didn't exactly stand out or feel super inspirational. Some portions felt a little redundant, and the speech itself was pretty long, too long to keep my interest the entire time anyways (as per usual with political speeches). I thought it was interesting he included many references to famous American political events, such as the Revolution, and the first women's rights convention in Seneca Falls. My favorite portions were when the fact that equality has not quite been achieved was brought up (side note: obviously, not meaning total equality such as in H.B., but as in everyone having the same fundamental rights), especially the fact that LGBTQ equality was brought up. This was a risky move, as quite a few people in the US have decided that it is only okay for a certain type of couple to be married and have a 'real' relationship. And I think this is important that our president wants to make the world a just and fair place for everyone, and not just be a people pleaser.

Reply
Savannah Welch
1/24/2013 01:41:04 pm

I thought your response was very interesting because I agree with the LGBTQ concept and how Obama included that in his speech to a somewhat forceful degree. I also agree that I can see Obama as a people pleaser because sometimes, it seems like he's only giving people what they want to hear, not really what needs to happen. This is not a good thing for someone who is the leader of a country and a very influential person in the world. Aside from that, though, I do think that parts of his speech were definitely more interesting than others and it flowed nicely.

Reply
Austin White
1/25/2013 03:44:27 pm

One thing I would have to disagree on was that fact that the speech really was interesting but it was really boring and said not in the most enthusiastic voice but it was still amazing. I also do believe the president wants to create a equal society but don't you think we would be a socialist country, but whatever he wants to do as long as he keeps the people safe.

Reply
Savannah Welch
1/24/2013 01:34:49 pm

I really liked how President Obama opened his speech by including the Constitution. He started out with, "Each time we gather to inaugurate a president, we bear witness to the enduring strength of our Constitution." The Constitution is the United States' foundation, and something Americans always refer to, whether it's learning about it in elementary school, or referring to it in a real-world situation.

I found it interesting how Obama talked about the idea that the prosperity of America rests on the shoulders of the Middle Class, considering how the Middle Class would really benefit from a reduction in taxes, since Americans have to pay for people who are on welfare (such as people who don't want to work), roads, highways, government employees, etc.

I was also not entirely sure about his mention of our "gay brothers and sisters" because that is a very controversial topic and I don't think he should have pushed so hard for it by saying that they should be treated like "...anyone else under the law - for if we are truly created equal, then surely the love we commit to one another must be equal as well." I think since many people don't believe in gay equality, he should have briefly touched upon the topic.

Overall, I think it was a well put-together speech, and I did agree with some of his concepts, such as resolving conflicts with other nations peacefully and how he was continuously referring as to how united the United States really are. The US is a land full of opportunities, you just have to go out and find them.

Reply
Yvanna Bidart
1/24/2013 01:55:30 pm

o I thought the speech was very well written. I liked how President Obama talked about everyone being equal no matter what religion, race, or gender. Since he is our first Black president, I thought this was something very important and essential in his speech. A line that I liked was “But we are also heirs to those who won the peace and not just the war, who turned sworn enemies into the surest of friends, and we must carry those lessons into this time as well.” I think this sets a perfect example for everyone to follow. I think this quote explains how one should be the better person and always do good. President Obama’s speech was very optimistic and I enjoyed it very much. I did not really understand the idea of freedom. I thought that was a bit confusing and boring. I agreed and disagreed with the fact of gay marriage being accepted. I completely agree that they anyone and everyone who is gay should be treated just like anybody else because they are just like everybody else with the same rights, same features, and maybe even some of the same morals. I think they should have the right to be able to get married just like anybody else should because everyone is equal under the law. My religious point of view does not completely agree with them being able to get married. I have decided to agree with the fact that they should be able to get married under the state and I shall respect them no matter what. An allusion I found interesting was “We, the people, declare today that the most evident of truths - that all of us are created equal - is the star that guides us still; just as it guided our forebears through Seneca Falls, and Selma, and Stonewall; just as it guided all those men and women, sung and unsung, who left footprints along this great Mall, to hear a preacher say…” because he is talking about how we together can accomplish so much as a whole and how the United States has achieved over many years. President Obama said this to motivate all of us to complete more task in the future during his next term as a whole. Over all, I likes President Obama’s speech;I thought it was very optimistic, empowering, and motivating.

Reply
Cameron Penny
1/24/2013 02:21:56 pm

I totally agree with you and how you said President Obama's speech was to the country as a whole. I definitely saw equality as an ongoing theme for his speech. I liked the allusion you chose because it relates to equality, which ties it into Martin Luther King Day. Also, it means that together as a country we can achieve anything. I thought that his speech was motivational and inspirational, as well.

Reply
Cameron Penny
1/24/2013 02:04:31 pm

A quote from the Inauguration speech that I found worthy of note was when Obama said, “America's possibilities are limitless, for we possess all the qualities that this world without boundaries demands: youth and drive; diversity and openness; an endless capacity for risk and a gift for reinvention. My fellow Americans, we are made for this moment, and we will seize it - so long as we seize it together.” This quote is very inspirational because it is talking to everyone in the country. I also liked when he said, “Today we continue a never-ending journey, to bridge the meaning of those words with the realities of our time.” This quote, to me, is talking about making goals and dreams, reality. I got bored with the speech after listening for five minutes. I’m not sure what the normal inaugural speech length is, but it just seemed a little lengthy to me. I agreed with him when he stated, “We, the people, still believe that enduring security and lasting peace do not require perpetual war.” I agree that solving our nation’s problems with war is not the answer. Also, I agree with him when he said, “We will defend our people and uphold our values through strength of arms and rule of law. We will show the courage to try and resolve our differences with other nations peacefully-…” I liked how Obama addressed his fellow citizens as “we” throughout his speech. It made his speech feel more personal. An allusion that I found in his speech was when he quoted the Declaration of Independence. The quote was “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness." Which I thought was a good quote to pick because it is very well known. It really tied the speech together. All in all, the speech was interesting.

Reply
Oliver Palmieri
1/24/2013 03:25:46 pm

Over all, my family and I do completely agree with Obama’s policies, but I can see where he comes from. With that said, he gave an incredible speech that greatly summed up what America is and should do in the future. There were many great quotes that made me think deeply. Such as “We must harness new ideas and technology to remake our government, revamp our tax code, reform our schools, and empower our citizens with the skills they need to work harder, learn more, and reach higher.” This showed me his plans for his new term and let me just say that will be mighty impressive if he does achieve all of these goals he has set. Over all I think this speech was a little longer than it should have been. It seemed to drag on for a while in the middle, but it started and ended greatly. I also enjoyed when he talked about global warming. This to me showed his respect not only to America, but the safety and welfare of the world. Overall it was an impressive speech.

Reply
Marie Miller
1/25/2013 07:22:46 am

I really liked Obama's speech. I agreed with everything he stated and there were really no parts that bored me. I particularly liked the line where he said: "We will support democracy from Asia to Africa; from the Americas to the Middle East, because our interests and our conscience compel us to act on behalf of those who long for freedom." I liked this because I really approve that we try to help other countries get their freedom to be able to be a striving nation, like America. I also agree with Obama when he says that all of us are created equal. I can relate to this by witnessing many people trying to be the best and trying to more popular than others. Does it really matter? We should just treat everyone the same and not be mean to others. "Our journey is not complete until all our children, from the streets of Detroit to the hills of Appalachia to the quiet lanes of Newtown, know that they are cared for, and cherished, and always safe from harm." In this line that he wrote in his speech, he was trying to get people to realize that not all people are cared for or safe. I really liked how he used certain places like Newton and the streets of Detroit because it really made you think about what was really going on there. I think that this was a very impressive speech.

Reply
Carolyn Gauvin
1/25/2013 01:25:48 pm

I pretty much loved Obama's speech for the most part. I agreed with some things he said, such as his quote: "We are true to our creed when a little girl born into the bleakest poverty knows that she has the same chance to succeed as anybody else, because she is an American, she is free, and she is equal, not just in the eyes of God but also in our own." I loved when he stated this because it shows he really knows what he is talking about when he means that all Americans are equal. He is realistic when he talks about the poor, different races, and people with different religions and how they are equal because we are all one country, together. What I thought was boring about the speech was when he started to talk about science and the different weather changing problems. I agreed a lot in his speech when he said that we are all created equal, so the love that gays have toward each other is equal as well. He used an allusion when he said, "just as it guided our forebears through Seneca Falls, and Selma, and Stonewall". He used this allusion to exadurate on charging to our goals as a country, as our past leaders have too.

Reply
Daly Brister
1/25/2013 02:38:17 pm

It is easy to see that there is alot of power behind Obama's speech. His words carry a lot of weight and meaning along with them.I thought His speech intriguing and never caught myself missing a word he said. The timing of this speech was also impeccable. During a time of economic unrest, Obama reminded us what our country was founded on, overcoming of hardship and the working class. He also brings us around to our ultimate goal of complete equality and makes an allusion That even a little girl growing up in the bleakest of poverty, can have the same opportunity as someone who did not. This allusion is a powerful one because it manages to illustrate the theme of our country in a single sentence, equality. Stating that no matter what your background, we are all equal in opportunity. I even enjoyed the way Obama read his speech. His words had a rythym to them that gave an effect that would have been lost without it. His words sounded so natural that it felt almost as if he was making it up as he went along.My favorite statement made by Obama was,
Through it all, we have never relinquished our skepticism of central authority, nor have we succumbed to the fiction that all society's ills can be cured through government alone. Our celebration of initiative and enterprise; our insistence on hard work and personal determination....
This statement is a reminder that we will never put our full trust into the government, nor should we. The government cannot solve all of our problems and In the end it depends on us, the people, to develop enterprise and work ourselves into a better tomorrow.
In the end, President Obama gave a very convincing and inspirational speech, now he just needs the actions to reinforce it.

Reply
Emma Kriechbaumer
1/25/2013 02:46:32 pm

After watching and following along with President Obama's inauguration speech, i can truly say i have gained a lot of respect for him as a person as well as a leader of our country. Though i am not a big follower of politics, i was very drawn in to what he had to say and overall enjoyed watching this. Obama is an amazing speaker, i got to give him props for that. He knows exactly what to say and when to say it. He tied in history with modern day life and i really enjoyed that. By him doing that, i believe many people felt connected to what he was saying and did not tune out and get bored. I really liked, just as Oliver did, when he said “We must harness new ideas and technology to remake our government, revamp our tax code, reform our schools, and empower our citizens with the skills they need to work harder, learn more, and reach higher.” This shows Obama's dedication to our country and the problems that need to be fixed.
He touched on sensitive subjects as well as more general ones but they were all ones with importance and strong meaning. I respected the fact he spoke of equality and how it is such a large factor to bettering our world. He also mentioned gays and global warming which were both large things we are dealing with in our society. Obama wants nothing but the best for us and he clearly showed us this in the speech. Over all i really enjoyed watching it even if at times it was hard to comprehend him due to his vast vocabulary.

Reply
Megan Ogilvie
1/25/2013 02:58:35 pm

I am not sure how I feel about Obamas' inauguration speach. It was boring to me. I have heard the ideas portrayed in this speach time and time again. Although I did like that he grounded his speach in history with opinion and not just opinion.

Reply
Imani Ware
1/25/2013 03:04:38 pm

An allusion that I found interesting in the inaugural speech was the line about muskets and militias. “For the American people can no more meet the demands of today’s world acting alone than American soldiers could have met the forces of fascism or communism with muskets and militias.” Then he says that we need to work as a nation and cooperate with each other. This was interesting because Americans have worked through problems, like today, in the past and I thought it was great of him to show the people that problems have been solved before by working together. When people hear (or see) this reference they have hope. They know there are others out there in the United States that agree with their ideas. This line helped Barack Obama connect better with the people and was worth using in his speech.

Reply
Austin White
1/25/2013 03:41:25 pm

I think the presidents speech was very inspirational and exponential. Especially since the president brought up gay rights and women's rights. My favorite quote was "Together, we resolved that a great nation must care for the vulnerable, and protect its people from life's worst hazards and misfortune" because it shows that our government truly does care about our rights and does want to protect us. The whole speech really amazes me because it also shows how much America has gone through and all the problems that occur and the fact we try to solve them and we usually do is amazing. This whole speech, brought America close together at least I think so and I'm proud to be living in a country where the government cares for our opinions and tries to protect us, god bless America.

Reply
Daniela Ruffo
1/25/2013 04:23:56 pm

I think Obama did a very good job with his inauguration speech. I liked his introduction and how he addressed America as a whole right away. "We recall what binds this nation together is not the colors of our skin, or the tenants of our fate, or the origins of our names.." I also like how he address other situations with the rights of women and homosexuals. “For our journey is not complete until our wives, our mothers, and daughters can earn a living equal to their efforts. Our journey is not complete until our gay brothers and sisters are treated like anyone else under the law - for if we are truly created equal, then surely the love we commit to one another must be equal as well”. There were a lot of boring parts to the speech also where I spaced out a couple times. Expecially when he kept repeating the same subjects in different ways. The best allusion I found was when he related back to the Declaration of Independence. He stayed true to the original meaning of the document, which I respected because a lot of people don't really care about that anymore and make their own rules. i believe that America should stay true to our history and not mess anything up. Overall I really enjoyed the speech, I've always thought that Obama was a very well speaker. I love the fact that this happened on Martin Luther King Day, that made everything seem more amazing to have an African American President. It also made the statements he made on not caring what nationality you are, we all come together for this country, a lot stronger. This speech really united America and made people think back to our original roots.

Reply
1/27/2013 07:09:44 am

I totally agree. Beause I think that Obama's is saying how Americans live like a union. Obama have a great job of being the president og the USA. It's hard for him. My favorite statement made by Obama was,"Through it all, we have never relinquished our skepticism of central authority, nor have we succumbed to the fiction that all society's ills can be cured through government alone. Our celebration of initiative and enterprise; our insistence on hard work and personal determination". The president Barack Obama have a very exellent speech, now we need to see the acions of his goals, because his actions its very important for our country and for everyone who trust in him... :)

Reply
zach pyne
1/27/2013 07:48:09 am

President Obama used the expression, "We the people" many times in his address. This expression helped to make the speech strong because it brings the thoughts of all people together. It seemed to me that he repeated several times our history and beginnings. There was a feeling that some of us need to reach out to other people. There really was not much new in any of his statements. Therefore it seems it was a good political speech not meant to disturb anyone.

Reply



Leave a Reply.